Only records seen so far are the deeds going back about 200 years. These were lodged by Chick Barton with Suffolk Records Office in Bury St Edmunds. His parents had at times several grocery shops in the area, finally the shop next door to the Bushel. Study of the deeds revealed the premises were once the Green Dragon Inn.|
There is one other mention, in http://howcutt.org/joseph-clay.htm where Joseph Clay Howcutt is reported as, being in the 1881 census:-
" listed as a boarder at the Woolpack Inn , which stood on the east side of Drapery Row and was the second building to the south of its junction with Market Street, facing the Green Dragon and the Bushel Inn. Drapery Row was part of a congested and picturesque area known as The Rookery.
as a general stores on 1930s BACK to SEARCH page
as a general stores on 1930s
BACK to SEARCH page